The Lines of Communication.

Saturday 20th July 2013

Saturday was a great day. I spent most of the day looking for a phone so that I could contact various people within the states- it ain’t easy to come by a pay-as-you-go sim in Ocean Beach! After searching fruitlessly, I endeavored to use the payphone at the supermarket, which was broken and spitting my quarters back at me. I finally bit the bullet and made some calls from my UK mobile number- I’m sure I’ve created an astronomical bill for myself but hey-ho. No sooner had I put the phone down than my Scottish neighbour Graeme came down with the handset for his landline, offering to lend it to us for the duration of our stay (what a guy!).

I was delighted to speak to my friend Vinnie, who is native to California. I met Vinnie way back in 2007, when my mum and I did the Angel Therapy Practitioner course with Dr. Doreen Virtue. Vinnie was a big part of what made my ’07 visit to California so special, and I was delighted to talk to him, discovering that he has some free time to come and meet Gabe and I for breakfast in OB. I am very much looking forward to seeing him again.

After lunch, I had a meeting to attend at the Alexandra Institute which is a non-profit spiritual development/metaphysical centre and shop in San Diego. It has always been my thought that spirituality is a Universal language, and I was delighted to be invited by Alexandra, the centre’s president, to help out at their upcoming Annual Metaphysical Conference, after exchanging emails about my visit for several months. Although there is a bus that goes direct from the apartment to the Alexandra Institute, it was a beautiful day (of course!) so Gabe and I decided to walk. Being a Brit abroad, it was really bizarre walking by the side of roads that are considered motorways in the UK: even some town and residential streets have 4 lanes! We made the 2 mile walk safely, with Gabe making use of his internal sat-nav skills. The Alexandra Institute is a beautiful place and Alexandra is a bright and vibrant woman. We had a very productive meeting, and she accepted my offer to assist her at the conference. It has always been my dream to work for Spirit in the USA, so thank you Alexandra, for giving me the opportunity to make that dream a reality.

We walked the 2 miles back to OB, accompanied by the setting sun. We stopped, exhausted, for some wicked Mexican food at Nati’s, an award-winning restaurant near the apartment. I had a Margarita (had to be done, really!) and the Grande Tostada which was delicious, but once again, a portion too big for my tummy. Gabe had a tasting plate of fish tacos, enchiladas and fries, washed down by about a litre of cola after that long walk in the sun.

mexican, food, tostada, delicious, vacation, san diego

A mountain of lettuce, sour cream, guacamole, tomatoes, olives, cheese, spicy ground beef and a toasted tortilla. Nom Nom Nom!

enchiladas, fish taco, mexican, ocean beach

Gabriel and his Mexican mini-plates.

All in all, a successful and beautiful day.

Come and say hello over at:

FromAngelsToZen.com

www.angellauren.com

www.facebook.com/laurenmedium

‘angellassie’ on Twitter.

Leave a comment